The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Saddle covers

I'm looking for a nice protective cover for my saddle. A carrying strap would be nice as well. Any recommendations? Thanks in advance!

Check out Schneiders (www.sstack.com) Not the fanciest but durable and well padded...also roomy. They get good reviews! I have one and really like it.
    http://www.sstack.com/english_cases/...-saddle-cases/

I love my Lettia saddle cover!

I have this one http://www.amazon.com/Plaid-English-...7834818&sr=1-4 I love it! Not too spendy and super cute.
    Steppin Not Dragon "Bella"
    Top Shelf "Charlie"
    Check out the Military + Horses fb page!

I own one similar to this, although I think mine may have come from State Line. I've been using it for 10 years now, and it still looks great. The fleece lining does a fantastic job of protecting my saddle.

Just make sure that whatever bag you get, the zippers open very wide. I have a Stubben bag that is great - the zippers run almost the entire way around the bag so it is really easy to get the saddle in and out. I also had one from Dover that I gave away because the zipper opening was so small, it was a huge pain.

If money is no object then my favorite is the Baker bag. The bridle leather trim alone is almost worth the price of the bag, although I have not seen any of the newer ones, so am not sure if the quality is still the same.

Default Big D!! All the way

http://www.millbrooktack.com/millbro...ffset=2&s_id=0

Quiltted, carry strap and it zips all the way around!!! You can't beat it and it's only $70!

I have one in black and it's absolutely awesome!!!

Big D is pretty good and the only one I could find that fit my forward flap. It has a VERY wide shoulder strap that helps when you have to carry it around.

I don't remember how much I paid for it, but I think it was under a $100.

Spindrift is offline Training Level