The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Blue Stem hay

Hay experts? My supplier will run out in March. He has a large blade grass hay "blue stem".
    Pros/cons?

I have no experience with it, but there were two recent discussions on it:

http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=290034

http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=290882

My horse hated it. I think I got him to eat maybe half a flake before he decided he would rather starve.

I gave a bale to a friend, who tried feeding it to her horses, they, too hated it.

I gave some to another friend, who tried feeding it to her horse. He wouldn't touch it.

I took the remainder out to my grandmother's farm, so she could feed it to the cows. They also wouldn't touch it.

So...I dunno. Maybe if you leave it out there long enough, and don't feed them anything else, they will? I wasn't willing to try that.

Thanks. I am trying some. They are eating it! I just was worried it might be too much change at once or there were ill effects I didn't know about.

Bluestem is a native grass of the praries, ie OK. There are 2 varieties--big bluestem and small bluestem. If BB is cut very mature it can resemble tree trunks.
    So it isn't so much what the grass is but rather when it was cut and how it was put up.

What part of the world are you in?

I learned to stay away from anything with blue in it, didn't know any of the varieties, because it would give my mare the runs. Try a bale first. Beet pulp fixed her, but who needs the hassle.

I just got test back from 'prairie hay' from near Wichita, KS, Some bales are obviously mostly bluestem. The one I got is a mixture of this and that. This big bale has weeds in it, so my horse is wasting some, but she is eating it.