The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Pity Party!!!

I woke up at 5:30am Wednesday morning with a little bit of stomach pain. I took some maalox and some gas-x and tried to go back to sleep. As the morning wore on the pain got worse so around 9:30 I went to the local urgent care place. They pulled blood but would not give me any pain meds because they were afraid I would feel better and go home. Blood results come back and I am told to go to the ER.

Get to the ER around noon. Luckily they were pretty empty so they got me right in. I am a volunteer EMT so I spend a lot of time in this ER but not as the patient! In walks the Dr who is also from my fire station. Awkward? Not as long as he has drugs with him! By now I have been in agony for about 6 hours!

They give me a big cup of dye to drink to prep for my CT. Good thing since I haven't had anything to eat or drink since Tuesday evening. I wait an hour and a half for the dye to get to the places it needs to be then go for my CT. First time with IV contrast. WOW, is that a weird feeling!

Back to my room to await the results. The verdict is acute appendicitis. Off to emergency surgery! By now my cell phone was dead and my hubby was off caring for the horses for me so I had to borrow a phone to tell him what was going on. They wisked me away so I didn't even know where to tell him to go.