The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Looking at a young TB

Hi everyone:

I'm new here, so a little background. I've been riding hunter/jumpers for the past 20 years with some time off for my two children-I don't ride pregnant. I've had 2 horses, one hot crazy mare who has since died of old age and one laid back gelding (they were from the same sire but purchased unknowingly). Both my horses were very, very green when I purchased them. I've leased a number of horses and I want to get another horse. My gelding is 18 and not doing very well in his hind end. I think it is once again time to jump off a cliff and buy a horse.

I will be looking at a 4 year old TB very green, I work with a number of local trainers-non of which want to help me with this purchase and I would rather not get into that issue. I also board my horses. My daughter rides and this horse would be for both of us-eventually for her. She is a very tough rider and I cannot afford a fancy horse, nor the appropriate shows for a fancy showhorse. In my heart, I believe that she will value the learning experience more than the show experience. I accept the fact that I may be completely wrong on that.

I am seeking a bit of advice from all of you. It has been 13 years since I purchased my last horse. Since green young horses cannot jump or perform piaffes I have always looked for a good steady gait and a relaxed mind. Any other qualities or advice I can use ? I do take horse ownership seriously and they are mine typically for the rest of their lives. Thanks you all !