The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Trust building activities?

... Or something to do to help my new OTTB bond with me? I was thinking since our ring is not usable right now, I could work on our trust together. I want him to see me as more than "the lady with the treats". I have a lot of horse experience and know that it takes TIME, but I was wondering if there were any certain things I could do that would help us bond. Right now I go to the barn and brush him/spend time with him every day even though I haven't been able to actually ride for awhile. The other day we went on a short trail ride on softer grass, but I'm running out of ideas. I was wondering if there was anything from Natural Horsemanship or anything else. Thanks!

I know that I rambled a lot... Sorry haha I just love my boy. [:

Quote Originally Posted by SAShugars View Post
    ... Or something to do to help my new OTTB bond with me? I was thinking since our ring is not usable right now, I could work on our trust together. I want him to see me as more than "the lady with the treats". I have a lot of horse experience and know that it takes TIME, but I was wondering if there were any certain things I could do that would help us bond.