The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    akhayes21 Guest

Default Rider Fitness

Hey,

I have come to the realization that there is not enough information available regarding fitness for the rider...

I have a degree in Human Exercise Physiology and have my CPT. The things that I have learned as a personal trainer when training athletes are SOOO applicable to riding, yet the information available for the sport is lacking. I wish I knew the things I know now earlier on in my riding career!!!

I am passionate about horses and passionate about fitness.

If anyone has any specific areas they want advice on, please post some questions so I can find common links and start to develop information around it...

I am soo excited to help out!

Andrea

When I ride the outside of my ankles cramp up. Seems like I can't find a good way to stretch them, other than riding. The only thing that kind of works (and not really), is to stretch hamstrings (with an elastic thingy up in the air) and then turn your toe inwards (kind of pigeon toed). Any good ideas on how to stretch? Standing on stairs and going up and down on toes doesn't do it, plus I have a sore metatarsal joint in my big toe so that hurts too much anyway.
    Thanks for offering your advice!

I have some similar problems, my hamstrings are often very tight and I had a fellow rider at the barn who would put her feet/ankles on a saddle rack and stretch to her toes. I tried it and it seemed to work good for me to loosen them up.

I have a tough time keeping up my leg fitness which we all know is critical to riding and Ive done a machine thing that is supposed to work the calves but I didn't find it helped my riding very much.