The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Question about a Judging Card

HI! I am new here!

I have been competing dressage and the way dressage is judged - it is broke down very clearly on points, priority and what is specifically being judged. I also rode jumpers for a long time but was forced to do dressage due to an injury (I love dressage though) - and have been cleared to go back to jumping - I was in Europe so I am new to the hunter thing. I got a new horse who is an ex-eventer and wanted to take him to some hunter shows - the low level work for now.

I have heard about a 'judging card' and wondered if there is a breakdown on what is specifically being judged? Like are points awarded for soft hands or taken away for missed leads - etc - like what is more important? Is there an official breakdown?

Is there like an official judging card I have heard people talk about?

For the hunters, you as an exhibitor don't get to see the judge's card. You might be able to if you make a request through the steward, but it's not really something you're supposed to do.
    It wouldn't be of much use to you anyway, since the structure of the card is specific to the judge and probably wouldn't make a lot of sense. Most judges use a personal system of marks and notations to indicate the quality of the jumps and make note of errors, together with a running placement tally of exhibitor numbers. Some give each round an overall score on the card even if the class isn't one that announces open numerical scoring, but not all do.
    There isn't an official breakdown, as hunter scoring is more of a judging of overall appearance than a tallying of points.

What CBoylen said. As usual.

Well, I may not judge, but Dave Kelley taught me how to mark my card, and I haven't forgotten!

It's always good to learn from the best.