The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Good feeds for mare and foal? And senior feeds?

I've been using Omolene 300 for the past four months, but these new bags I bought last week are... different. I know that Omolene has been doing things differently (it seems like they're trying to cheapen things?), but I don't know if they've changed the formula...? It smells different, and I believe one of my foals might have coliced on it (a minor gas or spasm, I think, because it was sudden and lasted about fifteen minutes before he was right back up and 100% again. I'm not even sure it was colic, but I'm going to assume it could have been, in this situation).

I don't necessarily think it's a bad batch, as I've noticed this new smell in several different bags, but I don't know. :| I'm unimpressed, anyway. Because I'm losing faith in the Omolene, I want to know other's experiences with it -- especially recently -- and what other feeds I could/should consider switching to. Should I think that the feed is a bad batch and totally stop feeding it? I searched for recalls and changes in formula and couldn't find anything, though it most definitely smells totally different than the Omolene I was using four months ago.

Not only is it this change in the feed I've noticed, but it's also expensive, so I'm looking to cut the bills too. For three months I used coupons I got from the Omolene University to buy the feed, so I got $10 off of a $17 feed, so it was niicee. But the OU got cut out and now, paying full price, it's getting rough.

Legends or Solution from Southern States seems like it gets good reviews, but I don't know. I absolutely love what Omolene did in the four months I used it, so I don't want to go to something that's "less"...