The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Suitability patterns for tights

I am just learning to sew, and i was wondering if any of you have made the riding tights from Suitability? If so, what did you think? were they difficult, and did they fit well? I am not your average Suzy homemaker, so making my own clothes is not for me, but- i would make riding clothes..If it's not too difficult and if they fit well. i did a search, but i did not find anything.

A long, long time ago I made the riding tights from their pattern. It wasn't too hard, but at that time I was also making simple skirts to wear to work, so...

You can adjust the pattern for the second pair if they don't fit right, that's the point. But with the stretchy material normally used for tights, you have a lot of room for error, so it's a good project to start with.
    --
    Wendy
    ... and Patrick

Thanks. i have a sewing class in mid-January, so if that goes well, i will buy the pattern.

The one thing I would caution, that stretchy fabric can be difficult to sew. It takes some trial and error to get the tension on the machine right, and if you don't use the correct stitch, you won't have any stretch across the seams. Some machines (the cheaper ones) an have a lot of trouble handling stretchy or delicate fabrics without ruining them.

The patterns themselves are not difficult IMO, but the fabric can be a challenge. So just make sure you have someone show you where the tension controls and feed dog control are, and which stitch to use.

Not that I need any more breeches, but I think it woulf be fun to try and make some! So far I'm decent at sewing flat things. Let us know how it goes!
    Foaling Around www.facebook.com/foalingaround
    Custom Equestrian Items and Bath Products