The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Drivers that would flunk drivers ed today....

I drive for a living. I do home health care. If I was not a mega defensive driver I would have been in nearly daily wrecks by now. I have a regular barrage of tailgaters. Do they not teach the 2 second rule anymore? (Or does no one take drivers ed anymore?.

When the tailgater is a dumptruck like the other day it is particularly un nerving. Passing on hills and curves is my pet peeve though. It is made worse by the fact we live in Amish Country with all the buggies on the road. Somehow folks never learned safe driving skills at all OR the think it magically does not apply in the case of a buggy in front of them. Buggy in front of me on a hill or curve. First the person behind me looks miffed and antsy. He/she may start honking at me at this point. Often if I will not pass the buggy at this point they will pass me and he buggy. It is just as bad coming the other direction. I am in my lane and the buggy is in the oncomig traffic lane. The person in the oncoming lane will pass the buggy INTO MY LANE. WITH ME IN IT. I have to swerve onto the shoulder to avoid them. It has gotten to the point that if I see a buggy in the oncoming lane I am already moving towards the shoulder anticiapting the eedjit in the other lane is coming to get me.....and sadly 80% of the time I am right. The worst one of all was last week. Someone actually passed a buggy into my lane. AND WE WERE ON A BRIDGE! Then there are all he folks doing 55 on the slushy roads aftger a recent snow. Usually the folks in 4 WDs are the biggest offenders. Somehow they magically think that because they can GO faster on the bad roads with 4WD their brakes will magically work better too. I am terrified to have my teenager learn to drive in a couple years.