The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default HIV Positive

My best friend in the world was just confirmed HIV positive. He is a proud gay man and I love him with all my heart. I cried and cried when he told me. He has survived one hell of a lifetime already (leukemia, dad died of heart attack, cheating boyfriends) and for this to be added on top - well I fear for his sanity and his will to live.

I am the only person he plans to tell. I am scared. His T-Cell count is around 450. I am not sure what this means. What can I do to support him, I know he is terrified. He is scared no one will ever love him again. He is scared to die. Its tearing me up inside to see such a vibrant person so sad.

I am asking for advice on how to support my friend. Maybe insight on what his life is expected to be like from now on. I have no first hand experience with HIV and AIDS.

I'm sorry to hear this. Although I don't have personal experience I thought HIV was pretty treatable nowadays. What does your friends doctor say?

He has started on medications and they were pretty pricey - around $500 to start off with. We both know that it is quite possible for him to live a healthy life for a relatively long time, but he also needs to stay healthy. Since he is just a year out from overcoming Leukemia, I am not sure what his immune system is like. He also has a cold that he cannot kick and he has lost a bit of weight recently.

HIV can be managed but it is still not curable. Low white cells count is not really good as it tells he could easily get sick.

There is HIV 'help group' and phone lines and probably a lot of internet websites. (try avoiding the 'bare free' groups and 'lets all get HIv' ones...)

He could (should) consult a psy. as well. not just because of that.
    And you can help him by listening and being there for him.