The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Sending a horse for training

I am thinking of purchasing another OTTB but due to changing circumstances I want to send him to a trainer for 30 days to start him in his new career. I have never done this before, I usually started my own and/or was at a barn where a trainer was always available for help.

I have been to the new trainers barn a couple of times and have taken a lesson with her so I am comfortable leaving a horse with her. What questions should I ask about her training program? I just need her to get the horse started on flat work.

Thanks, Bopper

Finally...back in civilization, more or less

Well, for sure I would say, "how many OTTB's have you re-started and can I talk to their owners to see how the process went for them?"
    We move pretty fast for some rabid garden snails.
    -PaulaEdwina

Even if she hasn't started ex racehorses it shouldn't exactly be a deal breaker. It all depends on the trainer. You have taken lessons but what is she like with young green horses? I galloped racehorses for years and have restarted many. Also started many TB's and sporthorses. It's all the same with regards to patience and a basic understanding of how green horses work. Restarting should be no different in that they are all individuals and should be treated as such.