The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

PonyhAlter Guest

Default Physical Issue or just a jerk?

Long story...

My friend has a horse. He is a registered AQHA that is a conformational erm... accident. He went from home to home early in his life until my friend bought him a few years ago. He really didn't get any formal training until he was about 7.

When my friend bought him, he wasn't working out as a lesson horse at a barn she was riding at. So she bought him and switched barns. He wasn't behaving well, extrememly stubborn, running back to barn, generally being a jerk. Had vet out to look, took lyme titer, positive for lyme. Treated with 3 mos. of doxy. Horse's behavior then got better over time, not trying to run back to barn, not trying to sit on top of other horses in ring. At some point in there I started riding the horse for my friend (I was boarding my horse there also) and was doing okay. Behaving well. I did WTC, moving him forward into the bridle, took him on trails (alone), in fields, jumped him. He was fine. My friend even took him to a little WT 3-phase and placed well. That barn then dissolved, and my friend moved her horse to a barn for a winter, then moved again the following year. About a month after getting to that barn (which she is at now), horse turned into a dickwad again. She wrestled with him some and got another lyme titer done, which was again high. So another 3 mos. of doxy. Even after treating, horse continued to be dick. Tries to run back to barn, simply won't turn or listen to bridle/leg/body anything. Will start backing up into fences, rears some, kicks out when moving forward, also does not want to be mounted. Some days are better, and the horse is fine, does what he is asked, likes to jump . The horse had a teenager leasing him this fall and she did okay with him, but he was still a jerk with her. She did manage to take him to some sh