The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Developing-world horse charities?

Hi folks, it's been forever since I've been around here--I've missed you all!

As the end of the year approaches, I see that I have a little money in the budget that I'd like to give to animal organizations, probably horse-related. I know there are so many worthy groups here in the US (including of course the great ones here on COTH!), and I do plan on giving to some of them, but this year I want to find an organization working in the developing world to include.

I was thinking of maybe a group that funds vet care or farrier training or something, and while I know I have heard of groups like this, I have no personal knowledge of individual groups. I don't want to just google some, because I worry about the legitimacy of groups I would find that way, so I was hoping one of you would be able to point me in the right direction!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Apparently you can’t set the bar too low for people to crawl underneath.

The Brooke is the one I think of most--they provide welfare education for equine owners in developing countries.

Here's an article that provides an overview of three charities: http://www.horsechannel.com/horse-ne...e-poverty.aspx

If you are willing to do Christian missions, the Christian Veterinary Mission sends vets to train vet techs and provide care in developing countries. Keith and Kelly have been here in Haiti for years, no matter what disasters or other agencies come and go. They and staff like them have been the backbone of improving animal care in our area. They have been very helpful to me and are extremely well spoken of by the Haitian vet techs I know whom they've trained.
    Last edited by HorsesinHaiti; Dec. 5, 2010 at 06:24 PM. Reason: clarity