The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default WWYD--long question about a client

I thought about doing this as an alter, but I've stayed relatively anonymous here and I'm not really saying anything I haven't at least implied directly to the client. Most of it I've stated flat out, the only thing I kind of skirted around was the euthanasia bit near the end.

Basically, I have one client I've been working with 2x/week for about 4 months now. She called me to help her with a 4 year old gelding on layup, who was getting aggressive and pushy and scared her.

She boards him at a co-op type barn, so there's no real BM or BO to step in, and let's just say that "aggressive and pushy" was an understatement. He would kick, bite, rear and strike out, and intentionally knock her down and trample her.

Of course, he got this way because there was one incident where he accidentally knocked her down due to him being young and a high-energy breed on straight stall rest for 2 months, and her being inexperienced and not really knowing how to keep a horse that wired under control. But due to her reactions and her fear, he quickly learned that if he was a bit of a jerk, she'd back off. If she (or I, at first) didn't back down, he would escalate the situation quickly. Now, she can't even take him out of his pen by himself.