The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default Reasons to Not Use Marijuana

I never have any good reasons to why someone should not use marijuana. Being a college student, I am surrounded by people who do use marijuana. I'd love to explain to them why marijuana is bad but I never know what to say except for "don't do drugs" "drugs are bad" "be cool, stay in school" etc. I know I won't sway their decisions, but when I get into a discussion with others I don't have a good argument. Anyone have any good arguments, maybe even convincing arguments?

Because unless you're Bob Marley it makes you an idiot.

Because they'll get the munchies and end up gaining weight.

Truthfully...I'd rather pot be legal and alchohol banned. And I don't smoke pot (since I was a teen.). But I know that people that are stoned don't usually get rowdy and fight, go commit acts of vandalism or want to get in a car and drive fast. Usually they just want to listen to music, try to talk to their friends about things in depth and eat junk food. You don't hear of people getting stoned and abusing their wives after the Super Bowl.

Quote Originally Posted by JetsGlitterNGold View Post
    I never have any good reasons to why someone should not use marijuana.
    Perhaps that's because it's a fairly innocuous drug, and should be decriminalized, if not legalized? Personally, I don't partake, but I don't feel any desire to tell others not to. I see it as being less problematic than alcohol - used in moderation, it's pretty harmless. JMHO.

Quote Originally Posted by Vandy View Post
    Perhaps that's because it's a fairly innocuous drug, and should be decriminalized, if not legalized? Personally, I don't partake, but I don't feel any desire to tell others not to. I see it as being less problematic than alcohol - used in moderation, it's pretty harmless. JMHO.
    Ditto.