The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Going rate for a trace clip?

For those of you who don't clip your own horses, what do you pay for a trace clip? I've been getting some quotes that seem really high (~$120), but maybe that's just what it costs now!

I clip for a living, and because trace clipping is twice the pain in the a$$ of a body clip due to the pain of making both sides look the same-- for me, they are the same price --$100, I will however, do a hunt clip (leaving legs, and head) for $80.
    The only difference between a runaway and a fast gallop is nothing but a SMILE
    Most horses cross the Rainbow Bridge, but TEDDY JUMPED IT!!!
    Member of the COTH Enabler Clique

I have always clipped my own horses, but the person who used to come to the barn to do other people's steeds charged $120 for a full clip (including head and legs) and $100 for a trace or hunter clip (as described by pinkdiamondracraing). Given the expense, most people invested approx. $300 in really good body clippers and they paid for themselves in less than 3 years.

Body clipping isn't too hard as long as you have patience and a steady hand. I liked to do it late at night after everyone was gone. Keep yourself from getting itchy by wearing a rain suit and get a pal to pick up a leg or hold the tail to keep your steed from dancing around. You can return the favor for them later!
    "We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals" Immanuel Kant

I body clip on the side for extra money as well. Trace clips I only charge $75, they don't take me long to do at all so I charge less. Hunter clips are $125 (but I do up to cheak bones on the face not stopping at throat latch) and full clips are $150.

Dios Mio!