The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How long do you hold onto your riding equipment?

Due to some major life changes--I'm in my last year of college, preparing for the real world, dealing with ill family members, etc. we've decided to sell our farm and sell/re-home the horses. So, basically, horses haven't been a daily part of my life for quite some time. My question is, how long do you hang onto your boots, half-chaps, helmet, etc.?

I hung on to most everything, and was pleasantly surprised to find I was using most of what I'd saved much quicker than expected.

I sold my saddle late in my senior year (honestly it didn't fit me well anyway!), sold my OLD saddle shortly after, and gave a bunch of things to my college riding program (quarter sheets, polo wraps, bridles, etc).

But boots, chaps, clothes, coolers, grooming stuff, etc, I held onto all that, and found I had some horses to ride within months of entering the real world, thanks to a co-worker with a small quarter horse farm.

So my vote - maybe sell some things, but hang on to the basics
    "smile a lot can let us ride happy,it is good thing"

My CANTER blog.

Till they wear out.

I stopped riding after I went off to college. When I started up again 10 years later, I was very glad that I did not have to go out and buy new stuff right away.

I am still using a dropped noseband that came (well used at that point) with a horse we bought in 1965.
    Janet

chief feeder and mucker for Music, Spy, Belle and Tiara. Someone else is now feeding and mucking for Chief and Brain (both foxhunting now).

So far in my life, I have had to rebuy everything I sold when I "got out of" horses three times. Hang onto everything you have room for.

I took 10 years off from riding but had saved almost everything. I did buy a new and better helmet when I started back up.