The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Stupid Questions

First, this is my first time for asking a question. So be gentle.
    Second, I am bascially an event rider. BUT I work very hard at my dressage since I am very aware that I need it for jumping since jumping is just dressage with a few seconds every now and then of time in the air. And I do show some dressage though mainly schooling shows. We are capable of getting good scores (have had some 8's!) as well sucky scores (some 4's).
    We are playing at 2nd level trying to get our 1st level better but just like everybody else the basics continually need work.

She is a big mare--17.2 and solid--and I am not--5'2". We have a mother daugher relationship since I have had her since 6 m and she is now 13 and I am the one who has done 90% of the work with her. She is NOT an easy ride either. She is a MARE, thru and thru, though having her spayed some years ago helped alot. She can go from being a pig and hanging on me to being a B**** and trying to dump me. Or she can be an angel. She is typically very good the frist 15 mins of work then starts to get to be difficult after that unless I (or whoever is riding her) just pushes her thru her beligerence or caniption fits for the next 15-30 mins.

She can also be either dull to my leg or very pissy about it. With the former I of course nag at her, not knowing what else to do. With the later she has taught me well to then take my leg off her. (So see, I CAN learn!) And of course etiher way she way behind my leg and with the later is also well behind the bit.
    When I am successfull in kicking her up in front of my leg I then feel like I am again PULLING as she takes contact.

When I DO get it all right it feels wonderful, she is up in front, light, etc.

Ok the questions for the day: