The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default help and ideas please, thinking about a rescue or rehabbing this winter

Not sure where to post this. I have one horse to ride and my husband says I can get another. The one I want is "getting better" ( she had an injury) and may take a bit before I can bring her home. So I am a small trainer, have tons of Exp. have an indoor, and an open spot for another ride. How do most rescues work. I do not want to put much money out to purchase and would love to "upgrade" a horse to a better situation. I am in southern MI. Any ideas. I do not want to go pick something out of the kill pen. I have had good luck with that in the past, but had one horrible one too. Ultimately I get a project and help rehome it. Maybe fix some issues, build trust, etc. So that it can go on to better things. I am not looking to make anything. Nor do Iwant a rescue that does not let you palce the horse.

Any Ideas? Any suggestions? Any good rescues in the midwest?

I'm in the same boat. Your close enought to go through CANTER though, I'm resorted to CL or the occassional word of mouth. Sorry I'm not better help! But good luck and have fun, upgrading is so rewarding and puts a smile on my face
    Fourth N' Goal Training LLC.
    ~Specializing in Mom and Kid Approved Equitation and Jumper Horses

*Horse Collector Status = Six Pack*

RTF,
    We are in Central/Eastern IL.
    Every rescue operates in the manner that makes sense for them....and so, you'll really need to speak with someone you are considering working with, and seeing what makes sense and what they can do.