The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Windward Farm, Washougal, WA- our work in progress, our money pit, our home!

Default Spinoff- Poor Parenting = Poor Students/Schools?

I've read through the two school-themed threads. I'm an 18 year veteran of middle school teaching. I teach in a public school in the state of Washington. We have 49% free/reduced lunch (poverty rate) in my school. Depending on the year, our success rate on the state/ NCLB mandated tests runs 75% for writing, 80% for reading and in the 50% range for math at the 7th grade.

What I have observed about the quality of education:

1. Kids who care about learning, learn. A lot. They succeed.

2. Parents who care about education have kids who learn. A lot.

3. Parents who stay involved, are supportive and encouraging from Kindergarten to HS, have kids who succeed.

4. Helicopter parents, who do everything for their children, suck. You are doing no good, just creating kids who have no personal responsibility and who blame others for their own shortcomings.

5. Parents who don't help educate their own kids, who don't put in place a system of discipline and responsibility from early childhood create kids who do not succeed.

6. There are dumb kids. Seriously. Your kid might be one of them. Please help them be as successful and hard working as possible, but don't expect them to be A students. Don't be shocked and angry when they aren't at the top of their class.

7. As your child moves up the grades, work gets harder. Surprise! Your kid's grades may go down, as the subject matter becomes more challenging. Be there to help.

8. If you don't respond to my emails, calls and letters about your child's progress or problems, don't blame me when they fail at the end of a semester.

9. Poor kids are just as smart as rich ones. Poor parenting happens in both groups.