The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Saddles for bikes?

A few months ago, in exchange for use of my truck and my assistance in moving, my brother gave me his older mountain bike. It's a Trek 6000, has hard trail tires, and is a much nicer bike than I would have bought myself (well worth my time and truck use). I'm an inside-the-beltway NOVA resident, and have been riding it along some of the rail trails here (W&OD) and the C&O Canal, and generally enjoying having a bike for the first time since high school.

However.

I most definitely must do something about the seat Originally, my brother left his "upgraded" men's saddle on it, which I'm sure was comfortable for him, but hit all the wrong places on me. We discussed, I did a bit of googling, and it appears that bike saddle fit is about as personal as regular saddle fit. He swapped out the "good seat" for the original seat (which he said fit him completely wrong, so he understands the dilemma ) and while it's better, it still doesn't sit quite right.

Firstly: If I go into a bike store with the bike/saddle I currently have, and tell them I need something with a wider twist, are they going to look at me like I'm crazy? Because were it a regular saddle, that's just what I'd think needed to change. No idea if the same terminology applies to bike seats. (My riding saddles are a Beval Natural and a Wintec dressage, so if any of you can suggest a bike seat for someone whose butt fits those nicely, it would be very helpful. Can I take my Beval to the bike shop and ask for that seat in bike form? )

Secondly: There are quite a few bike shops near me. Do any of you DC/NOVA locals have any specific recommendations on places you like, perhaps that are good at fitting women to bike seats? I'm thinking perhaps just taking the whole thing in and getting it all adjusted specifically for me would be helpful.