The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
    Somewhere where its always cold or raining!

As a professional, I find it hard to explain to clients when and where they should tip -- i.e. grooms, regular braider at big shows who braids for parade of champions, barn manager. I charge for most of these services, not alot mind you, but I think they should be tipped on certain occasions. When they haven't been, I try to pull some extra money out of my own pocket to make sure they know they are appreciated.
    Recently, I have added that "tips are not included" to the bottom of my price list after the amount I charge for these services. Is that enough of a suggestion? It is MY resposiblity to educate my customers? And should I be pulling out my own money to make sure everybody is happy?
    I struggle with all of these with customers who are stepping up to the world of grooms and A-rated horse shows from the local circuit.
    Any suggestions are helpful.

Somewhere where its always cold or raining!

As a professional, I find it hard to explain to clients when and where they should tip -- i.e. grooms, regular braider at big shows who braids for parade of champions, barn manager. I charge for most of these services, not alot mind you, but I think they should be tipped on certain occasions. When they haven't been, I try to pull some extra money out of my own pocket to make sure they know they are appreciated.
    Recently, I have added that "tips are not included" to the bottom of my price list after the amount I charge for these services. Is that enough of a suggestion? It is MY resposiblity to educate my customers? And should I be pulling out my own money to make sure everybody is happy?
    I struggle with all of these with customers who are stepping up to the world of grooms and A-rated horse shows from the local circuit.