The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Bit Legality

I just started riding my horse under English tack in a Mylar comfort snaffle and she's going really well in it for jumping and dressage. I've used this bit as her regular western bit so it's not new to her. This bit has the little bit of copper inlays in the mouth and my trainer told me yesterday that is was illegal for dressage. Is copper not legal? What if I rode in a copper snaffle? I would really hate to change bits now that I found one she's comfortable with. Is he correct? Thanks.
    Yogurt - If you're so cultured, how come I never see you at the opera? Steven Colbert

Two things. Thing one: mixed metal bits are okay for eventing dressage. They have been for awhile now. (My trainer had to be informed of this last week, so your trainer isn't waaaay out there
    Thing two: The Myler Comfort Snaffle is legal. It doesn't matter that the mouth pieces are "bent". You're fine in your bit!
    Proud supporter of SprotHorseRiders.com

However, if your bit has "hangers" whether or not you use them, that is illegal

I depends on WHICH Myler Comfort Snaffle it is.

Copper inserts are OK as long as they are completely smooth. If they are ridges, they are not OK.

Being "bent" is OK, as long as the bend has no resmblance to a port.

There may also be some restrictions on the size of the "rotating piece" in the middle.
    Janet

chief feeder and mucker for Music, Spy, Belle and Tiara. Someone else is now feeding and mucking for Chief and Brain (both foxhunting now).