The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Let's talk about being a vet!

I am a freshman in college and I am currently going for Equine Managment. Which I am very excited about. But I have always loved science (namely Biology) and I especially love learning the intricacies of how the horse works and what you do when a horse has this ailment, lameness, etc. I should be an equine vet! Right? But my school does not offer any sort of pre vet or vet tech programs, so I would need to transfer. And I know you have to go to school for 6-8 years! Personally, I am not so sure that I would not get burnt out after five!

Anyways, my real question is for those equine vets, vet techs, or students on their way to becoming a vet or vet tech.
    Where are you going/where did you go?
    Would you recommend that school/program to others?
    Are there big scary tests you have to take like LSATs?
    Did you feel it gave you the knowledge you needed for the job?
    Did you ever feel burnt out?
    What would you have liked to know before you started?
    What is being a vet really like? Tell me the bad/good/awful/sad/gross!
    Any other advice/stories would be greatly appreciated!

You don't need a pre-vet program, so to speak to get into vet school. You just need to fulfill the prerequisites (which vary from school to school), but generally several years of chemistry (up through biochemistry), different types of biology, a stats or calc class, etc. Google several vet schools and you'll see their requirements.

I applied to several different vet schools and got into Madison. Cool school.

GRE is required to apply to vet school. I think some schools still accept the MCAT. I don't remember though.