The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Leasing a show horse...questions :)

I'm a working student at a private training barn for which I have an agreement to board my horse and lesson.

I have come to the conclussion that between my full time job and my working student job that i dont have the time to keep my horse in full work and she's too nice to sit out in the field doing nothing. I'd like to lease her and might have found someone to do so, but need help figuring out what kind of lease to off and what most of you consider as part of "leasing" a horse.

The horse is young, but not green, quiet, talented, hack winner, jumping around a 2'6" course and ready to move up (just havent gotten around to it yet), in the ribbons every time and is well schooled on the flat. Originally I was thinking half lease so that I can still ride her as well, but I've been approached with a full lease possiblity.
    Full lease would be up to 5-6 rides a week, one must be a lesson (at lessee's expense) and full use of facilities.

What lease fee would you expect to pay for full or half lease on a nice horse in the Northern Va area at a nice facility with a legit trainer and training program?
    What else do you usually include as the terms of a full lease on a show horse with unlimited potential for any discipline? Do you make farrier and non routine vet care their responsibility? What about trailering expenses and show expenses? What do you include? Laundry service, grooming, etc?

I'm looking to make a good deal out of the lease for both parties, with consideration that she isnt a "made" packer yet and the economy, but at the same time be able to cover the costs of keeping her in the program where I am a working student.

Any suggestions or ideas, or experiences would be helpful! Thanks
    Crayola Posse~Aquamarine
    Love vs Money...for the love of my horse, I have no money!