The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default dressage in Colorado Springs area?

A friend of mine is moving to Colorado Springs where her hubby just got a job - the pictures she took while there are awesome! I've threatened to stow-away in her moving van!

What's the dressage scene like there? Any trainer recommendations?

It depends on where in Colorado Springs you are. I know of several; I train with two- though I am a newbie so I don't show much yet. I love my trainers

We just had our champioships last weekend. You might take a peek at the local GMO

There are a few other people from Colorado and the Springs area that can probably fill you in more.

I really do love it here fwiw...as a newbie to dressage I am realizing that the dressage community here seems to be really nice and helpful and I have learned a lot in the year or so I have been doing dressage (I have done jumpers and eq over fences mostly before)- and I really am enjoying it more than I thought partially as a result of the people I have met.
    My blog:

RAWR

There is a great deal of dressage in this area. There are a number of coaches depending on where she is, what her goals are, how far she wants to travel, etc.

www.rmds.org is a good place to start. As well as csdressage.org A great many trainers are not listed.

Feel free to pm me

I was in the Colorado Springs area a while back for a course and I met a lot of dressage riders. I was interrested by how friendly and welcoming everyone was and how many german instructors there are as well as how many clinicians visit. Also appeared to have a good mix of baroque/classical trainers and more competitive ones and some that did both. I think its a great area for a dressage rider to move to but of course I have not seen the snow.

Thanks for the responses!