The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default I don't WANT to move and BF can't understand why (long)

He just thinks it means I love him less than he loves me.

I'm a police officer, at a great department. I like the town I work in, I get along with the majority of my coworkers, I'm an adviser for our Explorer program and love it, I'm getting more training to do more stuff all the time. I can see myself staying with this department for my whole career and going way up the ranks. My Sgt agrees with me and says I have some of the best annual evals he's ever written. Hell, I was nominated for Officer of the Year last year and lost it to my BFF at the department, in part because he's super-cop.

Enter BF, who I want to spend my life with. BF is career Navy, due to retire in about six years. I won't be retiring for another 20+ years, as our retirement is based on age, not time in (ouch). Right now, we make about the same, me more because I can get OT. My pay will only increase as I stay with the department, with longevity pay and then seniority for OT bids (and I already get a lot of OT because I put in for it). And then Sgt pay if I go there.

BF has already extended with his current squadron to stay here, because last year there were no spots for him and he was going to get moved to NV. Next year he will be up for new orders again, and he hopes to stay here. BUT. He says he might get moved, and got mad when I said I didn't want to move.

He, being military-minded, doesn't understand the difference in our jobs. He is used to being moved and still advancing. Me? I move, I go back to the bottom of the damn barrel. Back to shit assignments, no seniority, less pay. And most other states won't pay as well as my current department.