The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default A more simple way to do Horse Show Entries

I am a trainer, new to having to enter client's horses at shows. I am looking for recommendations for simplifying the process. As my show string grows, I find the task extremely time consuming. I am not very strong on the computer. I am not very familiar with excel or pdf formats, but I am willing to learn!
    Most shows have a way to print entry forms online. How do I transfer these forms into a program that allows me to type, or cut and paste, information into the form? Is that even possible?
    I do not have the best handwriting, and would love to be able to type my entries and print them out.
    I also want to make things as easy for the show manager as possible. What do your "show books" look like? How do you do your entries for your large show string?
    I really appreciate any help!
    I don't know if it matters, but the shows we are attending are USEF class A Saddlebred Competitions.
    Thanks!
    Cydney Rae Cutchall
    Cyd-Rae Center
    Salisbury, NC
    www.cydraecenter.com (under construction still!)

Easiest thing to do is make stickers for each horse and client with all the relevant information. Just match the label size and type from the package to the correct listing in your computer word program, enter the information, and print a few sheets of stickers for each one. It doesn't take a lot of computer skill, just a few minutes of finding the correct place to go in the program you use. Keep those in your book and then all you have to do is apply them to the entry blanks, list your classes, and sign the blanks.

1 members found this post helpful.

Cboylen,
    Wow, thanks!
    Do show managers not mind if horse's info isn't exactly on the line specified?
    I had not thought of putting the info. on labels.
    Thanks!

Anyone else have anything to add?