The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Anhidrosis -- deal-breaker?

I have an opportunity to buy an excellent horse who fits me to a T. He's perfect in every way, except he doesn't sweat. He's got all the outward signs of anhidrosis: flaky skin, bald spots, huffing and puffing, etc, and naturally we're on the Gulf coast where there's no hope of a reprieve in heat and humidity pretty much until November.

Having come from the north, I have zero experience with this condition, so I've been thumbing through the internet looking it up. I'm beginning to get the idea that it's a pretty frustrating disease. I'm wondering if those of you who have had anhidrotic horses would recommend to steer clear of this purchase? In other words, knowing what you know now about the logistics of managing the condition, would you knowingly buy an anhidrotic horse?

I like your user name!

I had one board with me. He could not tolerate sunny days in the eighties. That meant he needed to be periodically hosed off and watched carefully. I ended up asking his owners to move him to another barn b/c I was not set up for a high-maintenance horse. He really needed to be at a big barn with grooms on staff (I'm a one-person private barn). That way, he could be in under a fan during the day, and hosed off when needed.

Nothing his owners did -- one a/c, beer etc. worked.

Even though my experience is pretty limited, I would never buy such a horse. If it can be managed, I almost think this horse should be free, or very very cheap. But perhaps those who've ridden anhydrotic horses successfully for years will chime in.