The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Too big a stride - how to teach to shorten?

So, I am new to working my horse in jumping. He is big, young, and relaxed with a huge step, apparently.

Previously I had set up a pole, and/or small jump every 12' and he did fine with up to 5 in a row, gradually building in height. This is free jumping, I am talking about.

The trainer suggested the following combination to help him learn how to "rock back": ground pole 9' to a low X or small (1'6") vertical 18' to a small(2'6") inviting oxer. My horse looked at the jumps, and did it as a bounce - NO stride in between. It was a bit of a stretch, but he certainly did not overexert himself.

I put a ground pole in the middle - it made him take a really awkward stride and clearly messed up his flow and rhythm. I also tried lengthening the combination by a foot or so to give him a touch more room - still awkward.

My other youngster (who is much smaller) seemed very comfortable with the 18' distance, she sat back but had a much easier time keeping a consistent pace.

Is what my bigger horse doing normal? What combinations do you use to teach your horses to compress strides? This particular horse is not rushing or running, he is just a big boy with a nice open stride. The outdoor lines are easy for him, but the indoor 10' are so tight he would rather leave out a stride then scrunch one in.

I am new to jumping, hence the FREE JUMP schooling for him. He loves jumping and is game to try any combination.

The classic exercise to teach adjustability is to put two poles on the ground a set distance apart, and practice putting a certain number of strides in between them, then add one more stride, then add two strides, then leave out a stride, etc.

You can do it at the trot as well as the canter, so the horse gets the idea of lengthening and shortening the stride as needed.