The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Stallions producing Ammy Friendly Dressage horses

I know I don't post all that much, but I do read here almost daily and I have seen many threads on here that were very helpful. That's what I'm hoping for here. I'm looking for my mare's next "Baby Daddy". I do have 3 stallions in mind for her, but I'm not an expert by any means in breeding. I've just been pretty lucky to have very honest people guide the way.

OK - my mare is an Arabian who is approved AHS. So I'm looking for Hanoverians that produce Ammy Friendly dressage horses. Good things about the mare that I wish to keep. Love her neck connection and how she uses it. She is very smooth bodied. I also want to keep the tail set - I know not that important, but I like a tail to be placed a little higher vs lower. Still want a round bum. Things about Carli that I want to improve. Longer legs & more freedom through the shoulders. More of an uphill build would be nice too. She's an honest 15h and a big moving mare. Here's link to photos of Carli & her 2009 Hano filly by Escudo II.

http://s411.photobucket.com/home/tamcam

I would love to hear your suggestions and why you would chose that stallion for her. 1 of the stallions I'm really looking at is an Oldenburg, so I'm not opposed to taking Carli to another inspection, but I would like to stick with Hanoverians. Thanks to everyone in advance!

Stripes, are you only going with fresh?

A couple that come to mind right away are Wolkentanz II and Sir Wanabi. Harvard too, but I think someone posted he may not make a mare "more uphill". Or what about Domiro? I know you have seen many of his offspring at inspections. Very ammy friendly.

Quote Originally Posted by houserabbitz View Post
    Stripes, are you only going with fresh?