The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Working student -- do ANY of them allow dogs? :(

I've been seriously looking into becoming a working student, but have a small issue -- I have a dog. It seems that most, if not all, working student positions do NOT allow you to bring pets of any kind. I totally understand this, I'm just pretty bummed about it. I know I have people who would care for my dog for me if I do choose to go as a working student, but it's a pretty big damper on the idea. I realize I could choose to live in an apartment elsewhere and keep my dog there, but that pretty much defeats half of the benefits of being a working student (included room).

Has anyone had/know of anyone who's had success with bringing along a dog for a working student position?
    "Last time I picked your feet, you broke my toe!"

When I was a working student, I was allowed to bring my dog (I actually brought everybody! Two cats and the horse and dog). If we were ever able to have working students again, I would certainly allow them to bring their pets.

Here's my feeling on it. Often times, WS are kids or very young adults who may very well be away from home for the first time or away from everything and everyone familiar. It's HARD and often lonely and sometimes trying. I think being allowed to have your dog with you makes the tough parts a lot easier. Sometimes a good snuggle or a cry in their fur makes us feel better, and I'm not wild about people, especially young people, not having that comfort.