The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

appydayz29 Guest

Question Average Salary for a USA Horse Trainer...advice needed!

Hi there!

I have just applied for a vacancy for a horse trainer based at a barn in the US. It is colt starting and developing horses including basic schooling on the ground and under saddle.

The job demands a high level of customer service, teaching lessons to groups and individuals and managing up to 50 horses on the premises.

Accommodation is provided.

As a UK person I really have no idea what kind of salary to expect. What would a reasonable salary be? How much does a girl need to have a nice, comfortable standard of living?

I am currently a professional UK based trainer, over 25yrs experience with horses, industry qualified and also degree educated.

Many thanks!!!!

With accomodations provided, I would say around $50k-$55K a year, or $1k a week. Not sure what your health insurance situation is, but you will want to have that and if it is not part of the package, you will need to figure about $100-$200 a month for very basic, high deductible, coverage.

Also, if you can negotiate a portion of the lesson proceeds, that would be good.

I am basing this off a position that I applied for that was similar...I could be totally off base, will be interesting to hear others thoughts.

appydayz29 Guest

Thankyou! Does location influence wages? This job is based in Texas. Also good point about health insurance...not like the good old NHS! Can you have a nice lifestyle on $50k a year??

This is for Texas, a few years out of date:
    http://www.jobs-salary.com/texas-hor...ner-salary.htm

I'd be surprised if the salary was anywhere like $50k if accommodation is also provided. That would actually be a pretty good salary without accommodation.

appydayz29 Guest