The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Your trainer coaching you at shows??

I'm a newbie and I'm currently taking lessons from my BO who is also a trainer. She is helping me tune up my horse for local shows.

I'd like her to coach me at the shows. I'm curious what trainers charge for coaching? What is usually included in the fee? Thanks.

It varies wildly by location, discipline, and trainer. Best to just ask your trainer what she charges for horse shows. Be sure to ask what is included in that fee.

My trainer usually charges about the same amount as a lesson, but she'll only go to a show if 3 or more people are going.
    We go to shows that are usually an hour or less away. These are jumper shows, cross country schooling, or full events.
    If the show is further away I believe that she charges a little more- approx $10/per person.

My shows are all local dressage schooling shows: often I'm her only student there. In those cases where it's just us, she often rides with me to the venue, and I buy her lunch, provide a cooler full of beverages, and she charges me a lesson for her services. She calls my tests and coaches before/after. If there are multiple students there and it gets tight, she's cut me a deal on the day if she didn't think I got my fair share. Works great for us and is a real bargain, in my eyes.

My trainer does not charge to coach at shows. That being said it is because he is usually already at our shows showing his own horses. If I asked him to come with me to a show he was not attending I doubt that he would charge me unless it was an overnight trip. He is a GREAT guy
    RIP Sucha Smooth Whiskey
    May 17,2004 - March 29, 2010
    RIP San Lena Peppy
    May 3, 1991 - March 11, 2010

I dunno if my trainer charges anything mmmm..... I'll have to ask her.

I charge $40 (all day) and my lessons are $35 (1 hour private)