The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Question about Vet School & Graduate School...does it matter where you go?

Hello everyone,

I am a rising senior in undergraduate school. I am trying to research the next logical step in my education, but I am really falling short on information related to attending graduate school in preparation for veterinary school. I figured there is probably someone on this board who went through this or is going through this now.

I am currently attending a very difficult science-based undergraduate school and I know that my GPA is not up to par in order to apply straight to veterinary school. My advisor suggested I enter a graduate program, and still continue to apply to vet school.

OK. That sounds like a logical decision.

But when I asked my advisor for helping chose different graduate programs, he kind of drew a blank and directed me to research on the internet. Not a lot of help.

So my question is.... when applying to veterinary school, does admissions really look at the school you received your masters/pH D from?

Is it the same as undergrad...every high school student is trying to get into Harvard or Yale, because that is what we are told to do?

Granted, I know if I receive my masters from Harvard or Yale, that will look a lot better...but if my choices are between two well known (but not ivy league) schools... one being a large state school and the other being a smaller
    (not as well known) private school... are vet schools going to take that into account? Or are they looking merely at your GPA and/or course load?