The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Newbie groom, what should I expect?

New to the world of eventing (after 20 years of low key H/J local riding, schooling shows, etc.) May have a chance to help as a groom this weekend for a level-headed UL rider (that I know thru a friend), who is riding some horses at the OT and OP levels at the MD HTs. I've done a clinic with this rider in the past and really respect the rider's experience, so this would be a great chance to learn more and help out. Any suggestions on what to expect? Advice? Do's/Don'ts as a groom? Apart from general care (keep them watered and cool in the heat, ready to go on-time, etc.) what should I expect to do as a groom? Until I'm ready to get my own horse and start as a Beginner Novice, I'm basically a sponge at this point, trying to learn as much as I can, and thought this would be a good opportunity to get some up-front hand's on experience, as well as lend a helping hand to a friend....Thanks.

Most importantly? Add value, don't add stress. When you're grooming, particularly for someone new, you're coming into someone else's system, and it's important to do things their way. Cheerful friendliness and a willingness to jump in and do whatever's needed will make you a ton of friends.

A few specific tricks I've learned along the way: