The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Olney Farm Horse Trials

Help! I need feedback ( and entries too!). The new event at Jersey Horsepark this year has pretty much taken all my entries for my USEA event Aug 1 and I am in danger of cancelling. I have been running this event for 20+ years and have always wanted to stay small and friendly to encourage first year eventers or green horse eventers, but are the mega-events the "new wave"? As a competitor, would you rather go to the big ones (and pay more?). What do I need to not make my event the multi level, mega event, but still attract enough riders to make a go of it. I think I could do it with 60-75 riders - and we have been running 85-100 every year....but not this year. Has anyone been to Olney Farm HT in the last couple of years and can offer some constructive criticism? We are building new tracks with input from Sarah Connelly who has been co-organizing Denis Glaccum with Plantation Field Horse Trials and is going for her CD license, but do I spend the money ---or just go to unrecognized events? Oh yeah...I run BN, N and T. Is that just too old timey and backwoods?
    One of the reason I started a USEA event was to get USEA officials to look at my courses and make suggestions for better courses and fences , and improve safety. Good USEA judges won't work at unrecognized events because they don't have the liability insurance coverage that the USEA gives the recognized events gives them.

Here's a chance for you as competitiors to let an organizer know what you want! And I can't complain because I asked you to tell me.....

Hi Ami,