The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Jointed Stirrups Vs. Traditional - Update

I have been using jointed stirrups for many years but recently read a thread on here that indicated that GM doesn't approve of them because they are less stable. My leg sometimes slips forward on the landing side of a fence and I wonder if this might be some of the cause. It would make some sence if I'm landing on something that's not sufficiently stable.
    Any thoughts?

Update - I've been riding in traditional stirrups for two weeks now and while they do provide stability my knees are killing me. Last night I took a green horse to cross country school for the first time. Being green he didn't always go in a smooth straight line and today I'm paying for it. My knees feel like they want to fall off. Going back to the "cheater" stirrups immediately.
    Last edited by Hony; Jul. 29, 2010 at 05:43 PM.

I was using the jointed stirrups until I sold my saddle and started riding in someone else's who had traditional ones. I couldnt pin point why suddenly I felt stronger over fences, when doing two point, etc. I tried riding in the jointed stirrups again a month or so later and knew right then it was the stirrups. No support, no stabilization. Im back to traditional stirrups and never looking back!
    "to each his own..."

just a horse obsessed girl who finds blogging way more fun than being an adult...
    http://equinerainman274.wordpress.com/

Good to know. I love hearing other people's experiences. I'm going to try jumping in them tomorrow.

I've been riding in Herm Sprenger bow balance stirrups, and they seem to lessen the stress on my knees and ankles (I'm 38, so I am trying to do everything I can to extend my remaining riding years). But perhaps I should try traditional for a few weeks and see how they feel.