The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Holy CRAP! .The torture of getting back into riding shape

"The horse does all the work" my BUTT. And my abs, and my biceps, and my triceps, and my feet, and my calves, and my thighs...

I had a baby in December 2009 following a most uncomfortable (though not awful) pregnancy. Whereas I rode until 6mos along with my first, I only managed until about 4mos with this one. Then, after he was born, I couldn't GET to my mare to ride as life was chaos with a newborn, a 4yro, a house, and going back to work. When I did ride, I focused on bareback to get my balance and seat back and did mostly light arena work or trail rides. I was lucky to ride once a week.

I recently moved my mare closer, and since the baby is 6mos old now, and I'm a teacher on summer break, I have an easier time getting over to saddle up. I've broken out my tack again (no more bareback) and have begun riding drills.

OH. MY. GAWD.

I can't BELIEVE how out of shape I am. Normally I did two sets of serpentines as a warm up. First time I rode, one set just about KILLED me. I also two-pointed one lap around the ring that same first ride, and my butt slapped the saddle at least a dozen times.

Today was my third get-back-in-shape ride, and I rode a mere half hour. This included two sets of serpentines in the huge main arena, asking her to frame up on the second set, which also kicked my butt. Asking her to frame up meant pushing her forward from my seat and using my core....AUGH. Just posting was excruciating. Apparently stirrups make a difference--my lower legs have been on fire since I started back in the saddle.

At one point while panting along today, I said, "This is...this is not enjoyable!" But it also made me mad to be so out of shape, and I'm resolving to ride even more now.