The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

amandastorms Guest

Default Dog Problems

Hi everyone, I'm new to Chronicle of the Horse. But I have read other posts with issues similar to mine and was impressed by the help they got.
    I board my three horses at a nice facility. I pay $600 a month. But here is my problem: My horses do not get $600 a month care.
    For $600 a month per horse I expect quality hay, of the right amount, for each horse.
    I do not expect to be told to clean 'Every hair and piece of debris" out of wash stalls when I leave. I already muck their manure when they poop outside of their paddock and make sure to leave the wash stalls clean.
    I expect clean stalls and shelters, and no injuries due to out of control dogs.
    My horses are in a paddock with hard packed dirt to lay on. No shelter. And most of their hay blows away in the wind, leaving what's left to be fought over, so my 1 year old gets the short hand.
    I have spoken to the owner and she has promised me stalls for several months now.
    Even more pressing are her dogs, 1 in particular.
    Toby is an older boarder collie who has huge obsession issues with the horses. My horses have been bitten numerous times, as have the other boarders. A friend of mine must have a chiropracter work on her horse because the horse injured her back kicking at the dogs when they went after her while she was turned out.
    I've talked to the owner many times. Especially after the dog spooked our horses on the trail! It came darting out of the bushes and snapped at their legs, causing both horses to bolt, nearly unseating both of us.
    The owner's answer? "Just catch him and put him in a stall." Easier said than done! The dog avoids being caught and acts like a wild dog when you try to catch him.