The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Thumbs down Collateral ligament injury?

Well, my guy's mystery lameness diagnosis turned out to be a moderate injury to his medial collateral ligament...

We didn't MRI, just xrayed and ultrasounded, so not sure if there is damage that hasn't been seen.

My vet seemed fairly positive about it, but after reading some of the threads on here about these injuries, I am feeling quite overwhelmed/depressed/etc .

My guy only just turned 7, he injured himself in turnout- I am a college student, supporting him on my own, and I chose not to renew my insurance because it was going to be ~$600 and I needed to put that money toward the OCD surgery he was supposed to have on his stifle before this cropped up (now that surgery has to be put off until he is further healed... and frankly it only matters if he is going to be in heavy work, which it looks like may never happen due to this injury ).... so I simply can't afford to do a big budget rehab.

The plan I was given was to rest him in his stall/run (as he has been for a month prior to this, aside from being let out and romping too much once by a friend) until August, then recheck. I was told to try to do 5-10 min handwalking/day... but as I am in/out of town this summer that is tough.

On top of that, he is pretty horrific to handwalk- he just rears a lot. Obviously this is no bueno for his injury, so I'm not sure how much handwalking I could even risk. There's no way I could do 30 mins/day or anything like that- he gets worse the longer he is out. He will walk better on the lunge, but I can't control him as quickly if he decides to get silly. So I am unsure of what the best option is here!