The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question 5" peacock irons-- do they exist??

I just started riding again after an 8yr break, and had to buy new paddock boots, which are apparently significantly wider than my old ones.

My current irons are 4 3/4" peacocks, so I'll need 5's now. Google has found me ONE pair on Ebay, made by Weaver, but that's all. Must stay w/ some sort of safety iron, since I have a disability that can preclude my ability to drop my stirrups quickly in the event of a fall.

Am I asking for the impossible here? I have to believe they're out there somewhere to be had. Help from the COTH mojo would be wonderful!
    Last edited by KLS; Jun. 19, 2010 at 11:49 PM.

If you're open to different types of safety stirrups, there seems to be lots of options. Try searching for 'safety stirrup' instead of peacock.
    I'd rather be riding!

Yup, they are out there. Bought a pair for hubby when he thought he wanted to dabble in the english world. Picked them up at a larger tack store. Easy enough for your local tack store to order as well.

Good to know that they can be had. Still looking, and I'll consider the other kinds of safety stirrups as well. Thanks for your help!

I have a pair you can have for the shipping. They need new elastic, of course, and could probably use new leather tab thingies. They've been kicking around my tack room for years, I don't even remember how I acquired them. PM me.
    Last edited by shakeytails; Jun. 20, 2010 at 10:18 PM.

Default Safety Stirrups - Trying to Help

What is the ultimate goal of a safety stirrup? NOT to get you hung up and drug in an accident or fall.