The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default For all the milk testers, Milk coming in REALLY early?

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this. I have a mare that is due in early August. She is healthy and happy, looks great, and has had no problems though out the pregnancy. This is her fourth. She was looking really full in the udders for the last week so I decided just for fun to see if we had any "milk" coming in yet. Too my surprise, we not only have milk but the calcium level is already over 200PPM! Has anyone ever had a mare with calcium that high 6 weeks prior to delivery? Or should I start camping in the barn now? I have been using the milk test for the last 5 years and it has never steered me wrong, but this seems really odd to me.

Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks!

We had a mare do this this year, and we immediately started her on the placentitis protocol. She managed to make it a few more weeks to day 322 and delivered, but she certainly did have placentitis. I would definitely have her looked at right away, do an ultrasound to check placental thickness. I've never had the milk test be wrong - every mare with "milk" or high numbers too early has had some sort of issue. Not to scare you, but just do some investigating to make sure!
    Signature Sporthorses
    www.signaturesporthorses.com

We had a mare do this this year, and we immediately started her on the placentitis protocol. She managed to make it a few more weeks to day 322 and delivered, but she certainly did have placentitis. I would definitely have her looked at right away, do an ultrasound to check placental thickness. I've never had the milk test be wrong - every mare with "milk" or high numbers too early has had some sort of issue. Not to scare you, but just do some investigating to make sure!

You need to check for placentitis or twins.