The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default To shoe or not to shoe?

I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I did a search and couldn't find anything, so I apologize if this has been discussed to death.

I'm new to eventing-- I have a green horse and we're just futzing around at BN right now. She's a Thoroughbred and she has great feet. Currently she's barefoot and not even ouchy when we ride on the gravel road, so she has good tough feet. I'm inclined just to leave her barefoot (mainly because I'm cheap!), but I admit I'm not well versed on the pros/cons of shod/barefoot for eventing, specifically the impact of jumping.

Anyone willing to enlighten me?

Thanks in advance.

I have 8 barefoot school horses (assorted breeds) all event BN

Quote Originally Posted by crewgirl34 View Post
    I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I did a search and couldn't find anything, so I apologize if this has been discussed to death.

I'm new to eventing-- I have a green horse and we're just futzing around at BN right now. She's a Thoroughbred and she has great feet. Currently she's barefoot and not even ouchy when we ride on the gravel road, so she has good tough feet. I'm inclined just to leave her barefoot (mainly because I'm cheap!), but I admit I'm not well versed on the pros/cons of shod/barefoot for eventing, specifically the impact of jumping.

Anyone willing to enlighten me?

Thanks in advance.

My daughter has a preliminary mare that did not get shoes until Training level, and that was after a slippery event.