The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default More Equipment history help sought!!

After looking through all the pictures on my other thread (thank you for your help!) I have a few questions. I've been eventing for 10+ years - but I'm embarrassed to say I don't know much about the technical changes (mostly equipment)

I'm hopeful some of the rule gurus (Janet - any help?) or history buffs can fill me in about...
    1. When the rules change from allowing a hunt cap to requiring one of more substance?
    2. When did XC protective vests come into the picture - and when were they required?
    3. When did protective boots become 'the norm' on XC?
    4. A caption on one picture mentioned the horse carrying 165 the whole event - with the comment 'as required at the time' When did we start (and stop) using weighted saddle pads? What was the argument?

Just looking through pictures - for some things (like vests) it was later than I would have expected. For others (like boots) it seems like there are two phases -boots on front (earlier than expected) and then boots on hind show up...sometime!

My curiosity would like an answer sooner than Amazon can get a book to me! You know what they said about the cat...

for the hunt cap vs helmets with chin straps-I beleive that it was in the early to mid 80's(too many helmets kept falling off in the show jumpint) x-c has had the chinstrap for longer, the vest was made manditory in the mid 90's-i think 96, the manditory weight pads were dropped in '97 (I only know this because i was doing NAYRC and trying to figure out how to correctly ballance the lead right, i was feeling quite sorry for my horse)...Don't know much about protective boots, the earlier model of protective boots were either the porter boots or leather....