The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Tilted Head

Not sure if I should ask one of the riding forums too.

I rescued a horse a year ago - it was a real rescue in the sense - he was just in someone's 1/2 acre yard where he had been abandoned and they did not know what to do and were giving him a scoop of grain and that is it. He was very skinny and completely unbroke. His halter had been embedded into his face as it appears to have been put on as a baby and he just grew into it.

I started riding him a little last summer and did not really start real training until recently. He is a nice, healthy looking shiney coated - something. Like he clearly is half paint but the other half could be something connemara like - he is 14.1 with a big hunter stride and his movement and mindset are very not QH like.

I have had all shots, teeth done, chiropractor.... he was at first off in the left front. Then I noticed his head tilts slightly to the left. So of course I had his teeth done right then and called the chiro out. The chiro said there was nothing wrong with his anatomy - it was an old shoulder injury maybe in a pasture or something.

Well, he is now totally not lame on that side ever and he picks up both leads. However, its like his head is always slightly bent to the left. The only way he goes straight through his back and through his body is to ask him to round as he bends.