The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Default Pentosan

We did our first injection today...I guess we are the test dummies. That is okay, I do not think the Adequan really helped at all....Does anyone out there have any experience with it?
    Mai Tai aka Tyler RIP March 1994-December 2011
    Grief is the price we pay for love- Gretchen Jackson
    "And here she comes. Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's ZENYATTA!"

I LOVE the stuff!!!!!!!! I use it weekly but my vet said it can be used every 4 days if you like. My first 50ml bottle is almost done and I'll be sure to order another!
    Kristen

Kiwayu & Figiso Pictures:
    http://community.webshots.com/user/kiwayu

How long have you been using it and what changes did you see? Did you try Adequan or Legend first?
    Thanks

I've been using it for 2 months. Never tried Adequan as my vet said it's a waste of money on older horses. She claims Adequan is for younger ones and Pentosan is better in older horses. Kiwi has been on Legend for the past 3-4 years now and I'm trying to decide if I want to discontinue it. I hate stopping things in fear that I'm going to mess something up. Kiwi is covered in arthritis from head to toe, it's not even funny. But I really do like the Pentosan!!!
    Kristen

I have spoken to my vet about this. What is the cost?

Thumbs up i really like it, too.

my 20 year old mare is rehabbing from suspensory injuries and during our last re-exam my vet commented that her overall body movement has improved since i've been using it. i also have caught her doing cat stretches which she has not done in a while.

the cost is much less than adequan - roughly $100 per 30 ml bottle (i hope i got that amount right, i'll check when i go to the barn today). my vet told me to give her 4 ml injections. i think standard is 5 ml
    http://www.eponashoe.com/