The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Unhappy Jobs in the Horse Industry?

I'm frantically searching for a job in the horse industry. I have some Vet tech experience, and have been working with horses for about 8 years. I have barn manager experience and have worked on a ranch buying and selling horses, as well as caring for over 50 horses at one time. I have competed in english and western events, including jumping, barrel racing, pleasure and trail classes. I have broken and personally trained about 15 horses.

If I dont find a better job, I might have to sell my 2 geldings

What stops people from hiring or considering, is my age.

I dont know what to do.

You sound like you have a lot of knowledge. I know it is hard right now. I am not sure what it is. I don't think it would be your age, how old are you? usually people don't hire by age, usually its cost I think. I don't know much as to why you are not finding a job, sorry I cannot be much help, I will be praying for you.

Have you thought about maybe doing some braiding for shows?

I have thought about that, but I have to practice braiding, and right now I am so busy with my work that I do not have time to go to shows to braid.

8 years in horses really isn't that long. Most of the people I know in the horse industry have been in it for like 20+ years.

Also, the horse industry sucks if you want to make any semblance of good money, unless you're a big name trainer or perhaps an Olympic rider.

I've worked in the horse industry, doing a multitude of jobs. I recently switched to an office job. The pay is better, the hours are better, and I have more money to support my horse habit.
    Tell a Gelding. Ask a Stallion. Discuss it with a Mare... Pray if it's a Pony!

I have heard that making money in the industry can be difficult, but I would like to give it a shot.