The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Question for experienced breeders!

Some of you probably read my thread here--->http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=258406 <---about my mare and her new colt who was born 5/19.

Please speak in small, easy-to-understand phrases here...I'm a complete novice to the world of breeding and nursing foals!

I have never bred a mare myself, or even owned a baby until it was weaned, so having my mare back with her baby still at her side will be a new experience for me. It's also an unexpected experience; I wasn't originally due to get him for several years now! I have none of the research that I normally would have put into this process. That means I will probably be posting here with paranoid questions! (The vet is already on speed dial...)

I've been talking with the woman who had my mare on her breeder's lease and she's told me that there were some problems with Selina's milk production originally. She was streaming milk right after he was born, and was fine for the first 24 hours, but then she noticed that Selina's bag was almost non-existent and Snapz seemed hungry. So she contacted the vet and he gave her domperidone (which sounds like "dom perignon" ). It seems to have worked, more or less.

This mare is a naturally hard keeper, and is on very, very limited grass. She has 24-hour access to hay and is being grained three times a day, but she is underweight and really (from past experience--I've owned her for six years and nursed her back from severe neglect) needs to be on good pasture to maintain normal weight. The breeder says that Selina still has no bag to speak of, but the colt is growing nicely and active, so he is clearly getting milk.